Anāhata Chakra

Anāhata Nāda = unlimited, infinite sound


Anāhata Chakra

Location: the fourth energy center, Anāhata Chakra is located in the physical body in the area of the cardiac plexus.

Represents: compassion, emotional tranquility, detachment and unconditional love.

Symbolic representation: the consciousness of love and empathic communion with other beings, abnegation, self-giving.

On the psychic level: endless and everlasting love for your fellows, compassion, altruism, empathy, acceptance, self-giving.

On the physical level: it coordinates the activity of the circulatory system, respiratory system and immune system.

Specific reactions in the case of energetical disturbance: the person in which the energies characteristic to Anāhata Chakra are disturbed will suffer because of dramatic, even tragic situations. Such people will have problems with the thymus, the endocrine gland corresponding to this center of force.

Characteristic element: the subtle energies of air.

Sense organ: skin.

Sense: tactile sense.

In Sanskrit, Anāhata means “unhurt, unstruck, and unbeaten”. Anāhata Nad refers to the Vedic concept of unstruck sound (the sound of the celestial realm). Anāhata is associated with balance, calmness, and serenity.

The Anāhata Chakra is the seat of love. When our heart opens to divine love, our love becomes infinite. Just as love is infinite, so also is the Anāhata Chakra. “The most beautiful love one can experience is the love of God. He is our eternal lover and our souls are his beloved’s, and when the soul meets the greatest lover in the whole universe, then the divine love begins.” (Paramahansa Yogananda)

The Anāhata Chakra is our inner temple in which the divine Ātmā, “the flame of life”, resides. In the Chandogya Upanishad it is written: “In the centre of the body there is a little shrine surrounded by a wall with eleven doors. Hidden within the shrine a Lotus blossoms, and within this there is a tiny, little room.” What does this tiny room in the heart of the Lotus mean? It is the Ātmā, our true Self. Just as the whole tree is already contained and present within a seed, the essence of the entire cosmos exists in the centre of the Heart Chakra.

Anāhata means “infinite” and “continuous”. In the Anāhata Chakra we hear Anāhata Nāda, SO HAM – “That I am, I am That”; the constant, fundamental sound of the Universe, the eternal vibration of the Self. The sound SO is produced when we inhale & HAM when we exhale.


Lotus with twelve petals in the Anāhata Chakra

We find a Lotus with twelve petals in the Anāhata Chakra. The twelve petals depict the twelve most important qualities that we are able to develop in the heart centre: Joy, peace, love, harmony, bliss, clarity, purity, compassion, understanding, forgiveness, patience and kindness. The twelve petals are inscribed with the syllables kam, kham, gam, gham, ngam, cham, chham, jam, jham, nyam, tam and tham in Sanskrit. They match the vrittis of lust, fraud, indecision, repentance, hope, anxiety, longing, impartiality, arrogance, incompetence, discrimination and defiance.

The divinities of the Anāhata Chakra are SHIVA and SHAKTI. Inside there is a smoky region at the intersection of two triangles, creating a shatkona. The shatkona is a symbol used in Hindu Yantra, representing the union of male (Purusha) and female (Prakriti). Shiva (or Purusha) is pure consciousness that steers us towards goodness and the Supreme Self. Shakti (or Prakriti) is the Divine power through which consciousness manifests.

The artistic talents like poetry, picture, sounds, etc. are coming through the awakened Anāhata Chakra in which continuous flow of universal love or the language of the heart manifests. The Anāhata Chakra bestows upon us the gift of expressing our thoughts and feelings in touching words, pictures or melodies and thus it is also known as CHINTĀ MANI.

Resentment, desire, obsession, fanaticism and dependency are negative qualities that also cause mischief in the Anāhata Chakra. Only when we have conquered these qualities does the entrance to divine love open for us.

While the Solar Plexus or Manipura chakra is self-oriented, the heart chakra is others-oriented. ‘Others-oriented’ can be explained as the predominant concern for what others want, feel and expect. To be successful and happy in life, both qualities are important. The Solar Plexus chakra and the Heart chakra need to be developed equally. This is called balancing loving-kindness with self-interest.

The gland related to the Anāhata Chakra is the THYMUS GLAND. It is located between the collarbones in the centre of the chest. If one taps this place lightly with the knuckles a few times, it quietens nerves affected by excitement or stress and brings us back into balance again.

The animal symbol of the Anāhata Chakra is a black ANTELOPE. The antelope is fast and powerful, and at the same time delicate and sensitive. With its refined senses it senses danger well in advance. It is vigilant day and night, just as we should be on our spiritual path – always attentive and careful.

In the Anāhata Chakra there are two more important symbols – a SIX-POINTED STAR together with a NEW MOON. Both relate to the changeability we experience in this Chakra. The six-pointed star is formed by two intersecting triangles. The triangle with the tip pointing upwards symbolises the energy (Shakti) that offers us the possibility of raising our state of consciousness. The inverted triangle implies that we can also very easily slip back into the lower Chakras again from the Heart Chakra.

The colour of the Anāhata Chakra is LIGHT BLUE. Blue means spirituality and unity. It is the colour of the clear, cloudless sky, the reflection of purity and infinity. Also, the colour of the flame of a candle is blue in the centre as it is not polluted by smoke. When we purify the fire of the Manipūra its reflection in the Anāhata Chakra is also clear and pure. Sometimes when we are meditating on the Anāhata Chakra we can perceive the radiance from the glow of the Manipūra Chakra as a yellowish-orange colour.

The Tattva of the Anāhata Chakra is VĀYU, the air element and who is smoke-like and four-armed, holding a kusha and riding an antelope. Air forms the basis for movement and expansion and symbolises the breadth and boundlessness of the heart, within which our consciousness is able to expand without restriction. Vāyu is connected physically to the sense of touch and the skin (the organ of touch), and emotionally to the level of feelings. When the heart is touched it can give us a feeling of becoming lost in an ocean of emotions or sinking into our feelings.

The Mantra of the Anāhata Chakra is YAM. It means to let go, to liberate, to give. By the grace of the Guru and through prayer, practising Mantra, Satsang and singing Bhajans we are not only able to clear blockages in the Anāhata Chakra, but also in the Manipūra Chakra and Vishuddhi Chakra.

Until the Anāhata Chakra opens it is not possible for the Āgyā Chakra, the centre of mental energy and power of thought, to develop its full potential. Every action, every word, all feelings and thoughts should be filtered through the Anāhata Chakra and be enlightened by Bhakti (Love) and Gyāna (Wisdom). Gyāna is unable to feel anything without Bhakti, and Bhakti is blind without Gyāna. Where love and knowledge join forces there is completeness. Understanding and kindness leads us directly to God, which is only possible by grace of a Guru.

Yoga & Mudra for Anāhata Chakra

Mountain Pose (Tadasana) With Hands in Anjali Mudra
Upward Salute Pose (Urdhva Hastasana)
Cobra Pose (Bhujangasana)
Child’s pose (Balasana)
Cow Face (Gomukhasana)
Eagle (Garudasana)
Camel (Ustrasana)
Fish (Matsyasana)
Cat (Marjaryasana)